Skip to content

Allen Mendonca’s Sentinel House

December 16, 2009

Allen Mendonca‘s novel ‘Sentinel House’ hits bookstores today . It’s the story of a (fictional) Indian newspaper house and how its characters ‘play a role’ in the evolution of India over the years.  Allen, a former Indian Express and Times of India journalist , was a good friend. He passed away in his sleep in September this year. He was 49.

Here is an illustration I did for his book. It’s a graphic-novelish rendering of a scene in which Harivanshrai Kumar , the central character of the book , hears about the raid on his newspaper house :

Do note that ‘Sentinel House’ is NOT a graphic novel.

Meanwhile, I’ve been busy with other non-art stuff. But I’m working on another INGA comic. Look forward to a post next week.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2009 9:47 am

    Jai, this illustration of yours took me back to the SinCity movie :). This has a stark look & feel to how SinCity is shot.

    BTW…seized “floppy disks”? What age man :)))

  2. December 16, 2009 11:11 am

    Cool update. Seriously, what are you doing writing software? Looking forward to your INGA Comic post. Hope you are doing more of this.
    KNR

  3. Smitha Vishwanath permalink
    December 16, 2009 11:12 am

    Your illustration makes me look forward to reading the book. Well done!

  4. December 16, 2009 11:44 am

    I say, this is very neat. I am wondering about two things… “revenue intelligence” (is that like ‘English cuisine’?), and why are the inspectors looking like goons …

    Oh.

    Well, never mind.

  5. December 16, 2009 12:01 pm

    Good one, man. Attention to detail is commendable, with even the clock on the wall reading 9:00…! On the whole, how many such scenes within the book did you graphicalize? (coined a new word for the sake of expression :))

  6. December 16, 2009 1:51 pm

    Nice !

  7. Santhosh permalink
    December 17, 2009 7:10 am

    Nice detail as usual. ‘Ganesh’, the old PC drive and the pot-bellied revenue goon stand out. Can’t wait for the INGA.

  8. December 18, 2009 4:19 am

    Hi Jaiprasad!

    That’s how i ve known you in school. Well I was in the same batch as yours, in a different section though. Nice to see ur caricatures. They are all awesome! At present I live in hyderabad which is an equally happening place in the subcontinent. I am pursuing my masters degree in computer graphics and applied arts besides being a humour enthusiast. Do check out my blog and let me know ur impressions.

    Wishes
    Savitha

  9. December 29, 2009 9:14 am

    Dearest ‘Jaiprasad’. It has come to my attention that there are some details about you we were hitherto unaware of. (I just wanted to use ‘hitherto’ in a sentence and your friend gave me an opening.)

    As to your creation: Beauty! I am loving it.
    Especially electro-jazzy designu on man’s sweater. I wish I had one like that. What a statement I would make traipsing down my mohalla. 🙂
    Top cop slash goon has five o’clock shadow on forearm. Amazing.

  10. January 17, 2010 5:21 pm

    i didnt know allen died. I had done a short course on media in my PUC years. Allen … as i remember… had been there for a nice talk. he told us of stories of how he was covering this story about petrol adulteration… how he would hide to catch the act. he had a very nice sense of humour and he was a gifted story teller… you would be rivetted… and keep wanting him to tell you more stories. well … i am sure the book should be just as good as his talks.

  11. sai permalink
    March 4, 2010 6:56 am

    hi
    i just wanted to know, is Allen Mendonca in anyway related to the TOI film critic – Clare Mendonca ?

Leave a Reply

